1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Enrich my presidency – Akufo-Addo to new C’cil of State members

Enrich my presidency – Akufo-Addo to new C’cil of State members


President Nana Akufo-Addo has charged two newly-sworn in members of the Council of State who have been appointed to replace the two members who have passed away, the late Nana Kofi Obiri Egyir II and the late Alhaji Sahanun Moqtar, to ensure that they make contributions to the work of the constitutional bodies that will help enrich his presidency.

Addressing the two new members, Alhaji Abdul Abubakar Rahman (Alhaji Short) and Major General Richardson Baiden (Rtd), the President, after administrating the Oaths of Office and Secrecy to them, noted that, “No matter how smart or well-endowed, every chief or leader has a group of elders to advise him or her”.

“As a distinguished solider and public servant; and a successful businessman and politician, you both have the quality of experience that can enhance the work of the Council. You are joining a Council that has proven, so far, to be very effective in its deliberations. It is my hope and expectation that you will make sound contributions to the proceedings of the Council and, thereby, add value to its output and help enrich my presidency for the benefit of the Ghanaian people”, President Akufo-Addo said.

Response of the new COS members

Major General Richardson Baiden (Rtd), in a response on behalf of the two of them, indicated that the opportunity to serve on the Council is one that has been orchestrated by God and they pledge to give of their best to make Ghana a better nation under the current Akufo-Addo administration.

“We shall not fail you; we are only coming to add to what others have delivered”, Major General Richardson Baiden (Rtd) stated.

Formation of the Council of State

Articles 89 to 92 of the 1992 Constitution are dedicated to the Council of State.

Among others, the Constitution states that: 89 (1) “there shall be a Council of State to counsel the President in the performance of his functions.

(2) The Council of State shall consist of:

(a) the following persons appointed by the President in consultation with Parliament – (i) one person who has previously held the office of Chief Justice; (ii) one person who has previously held the office of Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces of Ghana; (iii) one person who has previously held the office of Inspector-General of Police;

(b) the President of the National House of Chiefs; (c) one representative from each region of Ghana elected, in accordance with regulations made by the Electoral Commission under article 51 of this Constitution, by an electoral college comprising two representatives from each of the districts in the region nominated by the District Assemblies in the region; and (d) eleven other members appointed by the President”.

89(3) states that: “The Council of State shall elect a chairman from among its members”, and 89(4) says: “A member of the Council of State shall, at the first meeting of the Council which he attends, take and subscribe the oath of secrecy and the oath of a member of the Council of State set out in the Second Schedule to this Constitution”.


Your email address will not be published.