1. Home
  2. General
  3. News
  4. Ghanaians ‘ll not accept another episode of judicial corruption – Akufo-Addo to Judges

Ghanaians ‘ll not accept another episode of judicial corruption – Akufo-Addo to Judges


President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has drawn the attention of some 45 newly appointed Justices of the Superior Court of Judicature (High Court and Court of Appeal) to the fact that the people of Ghana will not in anyway accept the repetition of the 2015 Judicial Corruption exposé by Anas Aremeyaw Anas, that led to the removal of several Judges from the Bench.

In his statement after administrating the Oath of Office, the Judicial Oath and the Oaths of Secrecy to newly appointed High Court and Court of Appeal Justices as well as attendees of the swearing-in ceremony at the Banquet hall of the Jubilee House on Tuesday, 17 December 2019, President Akufo-Addo, charged the new Justices to conduct themselves such that issues of corruption will not be found amongst them.

“It will be remiss of me on such as occasion not to draw your attention to recent events that shook public confidence in the Judiciary, and that is the exposé conducted by the well known investigative journalist, Anas Aremeyaw Anas into Judicial Corruption which lead to the removal of several judges. The people of Ghana cannot and will not tolerate the repetition of the abysmal dismal tale of acts of corruption that were revealed. You have a big duty to demonstrate integrity in all your dealings if public support in the Judiciary is to be maintained” President Akufo-Addo stated.

Quoting the Latin phase, “Interest Reipublicae Ut Sit Finis Litum” which is translated, “It is in the interest of the State that litigation must come to an end”, President Akufo-Addo admonished the High Court Justices “to carry out their duties as the Court of first instance such that most Judicial proceedings will end at their door steps and there by accelerate the process of Judicial administration”.

“By the same token, Justices of the Court of Appeal, you should so conduct yourselves. Even though our Judicial system comports a two tier appellate Court, the overwhelming majority of appeals terminate at the Court of Appeal. The Apex Court, the Supreme Court, the Court of last resort should be ceased in its appellate Jurisdiction reraly if the Court of Appeal is satisfactory in its output” President Akufo-Addo said.

Justice of the High Court, Justice Aboagye Tandoh and Justice of the Court of Appeal, Justice Anthony Oppong, in response to the charge of the President on behalf of their colleagues noted that they are well aware of the task and responsibility placed on them as judges of the Superior Court of Judicature. They assured the President that they will discharge their duties without fear, favour, affection or ill-will.

Court of Appeal Justices

The Justices who have been appointed to the Court of Appeal are 10 in total. They are Justice Anthony Oppong, Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu, Justice Philip Bright Mensah, Justice Angelina Mensah-Homiah and Justice Jennifer Amanda Dodoo. The rest are Justice Sophia Rosetta Oduokua Bernasko Essah, Justice Georgina Mensah-Datsa, Justice Eric Kyei Baffour, Justice Yaw Darko Asare, Justice Janapare Bartels-Kujo and Justice Obeng-Manu Jnr.

High Court Justices

The High Court Justices numbering 34 are Gabriel Nene Kwao Mate-Teye, Lydia Osei Marfo, Ali Baba Abature, Abena Oppong Adjin-Doku, Mariama Sammo, Patricia Quansah, Aboagye Tandoh, Ruby Aryeetey, Kwame Amoako, Mariam Saleh Sinare, Cynthia Wiredu, Frank Aboadwe Rockson, Emmanuel Ayesu Essampong, Frederick Arnold Wekem Kwesi Nawurah, Rita Abena Abrokwah Doko, Comfort Kwasiwor Tasiame and  Ruby Naa Adjeley Quaison.

The remaining are Priscilla Dikro Ofori, Mary Maame Ekue Nsenkyire, Jane Harriet Akweley Quaye, Ayitey Armah-Tetteh, Charity Akosua Asem, Malike Awo Woanyah Dey, Doris Dabanka-Bekoe, Stephen Oppong, Emmanuel Kofi Diaba, Sarah Aryee, Mavis Akua Andoh, Eudora Christina Dadson, George Appah Kwabena, Naana Bedu-Addo, Amos Wuntah Wuni, Afi Agbanu and Enyonam Adinyira.


Your email address will not be published.